Woman with phone to her earThe Vermont Child Welfare Training Program partners with representatives from all levels of the Family Services Division (FSD) to continuously grow and adapt the professional development program to meet the changing needs of FSD staff. We provide a comprehensive professional development program which: 

  • Integrates divisional mission, practice model, policy, quality assurance and program improvement processes;
  • Meets departmental needs for regional training available through the year;
  • Provides opportunities for teams to be trained and coached with their supervisors in best and emerging practices, so that supervisors can support workers to implement skills and knowledge in their practice;
  • Utilizes various delivery methods, including videos, interactive internet-based, webinars, formal coaching relationships and workshops; 
  • Focuses on building specific competency based skills for engaging, assessing, planning, implementing, monitoring and closure with children, youth and families;
  • Builds system capacity through organizational consulting, mentoring, team building and leadership development;
  • Progresses from basic orientation, foundational knowledge through advanced skills and knowledge in child welfare and youth justice practice. 

All professsional development activities are guided by the FSD practice model and core practice principles detailed at http://dcf/vermont/gov/fsd

 

Workforce Team Contacts

The non-degree programs of the Vermont CWTP are housed in Mann Hall on the Trinity Campus of the University of Vermont.

Administrative Support:
Susan Conte, can be reached at 802-656-3311
Susan.Conte@uvm.edu .

Director:
Jessica Strolin, PhD
Jessica.Strolin@uvm.edu

Associate Director:
Sarah Ward, LICSW
Sarah.Ward@uvm.edu

Team Lead:
Jill Richard, M.Ed
Jill.Richard@uvm.edu

Training Coordinators:
Janine Beaudry, MSW
Janine.Beaudry@uvm.edu

Kate Cunningham, MS
Catherine.Cunningham@uvm.edu

Cassie Gillespie, MSW
Cassie.Gillespie@uvm.edu 

Melissa Farr, MSW
Melissa.Farr@uvm.ed